Bobby Hauck

Football Montana Sports Information

Hauck named to AFCA Board of Trustees

Montana head coach Bobby Hauck has been elected by his peers as the FCS representative to the National Football Coaches Association's Board of Trustees, the AFCA announced Monday at its annual convention in San Antonio, Texas.
Hauck joins the Board of Trustees alongside new members Jim Catanzaro of Lake Forrest College who will serve as the Division III representative and Morningside College head coach Steve Ryan who will serve and the NAIA representative.
Hauck, Catanzaro, and Ryan will join the 18-man group of head coaches who guide the organization this week. The Board formulates policy and provides direction for the AFCA, which was founded in 1922 by Amos Alonzo Stagg, John Heisman, and others. The AFCA has more than 11,000 members from all levels of the profession.
Returning members of the AFCA Board of Trustees include incoming president Frank Solich of Ohio University, first vice-president Gary Patterson of TCU, second vice-president Pat Fitzgerald of Northwestern University and third vice-president Craig Bohl of the University of Wyoming.
Also serving on the Board in 2019 are: Bronco Mendenhall, University of Virginia; Todd Knight, Ouachita Baptist University; David Cutcliffe, Duke University; Jeff McMartin, Central College (Iowa); Blake Anderson, Arkansas State University; Dan Mullen, University of Florida; Danny Rocco, University of Delaware; Ken Niamatalolo, U.S. Naval Academy; Paul Winters, Wayne State University (Mich.); David Shaw, Stanford University; Seth Littrell, University of North Texas; Danny Pearman, Clemson University, ex officio member and chairman of the Assistant Coaches Committee; Van Malone, Kansas State University, ex officio member and chairman of the Minority Issues Committee; Michael Christensen, Lakewood (Calif.) High School, ex officio member and chairman of the High School Committee; and Mark McElroy, Saddleback College, ex officio member, and Junior College representative. AFCA Executive Director Todd Berry serves as secretary-treasurer of the organization.
"It is a great honor and a great privilege to be able to serve the American Football Coaches Association. It is humbling to be included in this great group of men and coaches," said Hauck.
"It is also a great privilege to earn a living coaching college football. To be able to serve on this board and give back to the game that has given my family and I so much is exciting, and I cannot wait to do my part."
Hauck was named the 37th head coach in program history in 2017, returning to Missoula after serving as the head coach at UM from 2003 to 2009.
In his first year back, he led the Griz to a 6-5 mark in a rebuilding season. He became the winningest coach in Montana history on Nov. 10, 2018, with a 46-27 victory over the Idaho Vandals, surpassing the great Don Read with his 86th overall win as head coach at UM.
Using winning percentage, total victories, and championships as criteria, Hauck is the winningest coach in Big Sky Conference history. He surpassed the 100-win mark for his career and the 50 Big Sky Conference win mark in 2018.
In his first stint as head coach at Montana, he posted an 80-17 record, helped the Griz win at least a share of the Big Sky Conference title in each of his seven seasons and guided the team to three national championship appearances. He is the fastest coach in Big Sky history to reach the 40, 50, 60, 70, and 80-win plateaus.
Since returning to Missoula, his Grizzlies have excelled academically as well, posting the two best term GPAs in program history in consecutive semesters, with the team achieving a record 3.07 during the fall season.
Catanzaro led Lake Forest to a 6-4 overall record in 2018, but finished second in the Midwest Conference (MWC) South Division with a 4-1 mark. After 10 seasons as head coach, Catanzaro has an overall record of 59-51. His 59 victories are good enough for third on the school's all-time wins list. Catanzaro has guided the Foresters to four eight-win seasons in the past seven years. He was named MWC Coach of the Year in 2012 after Lake Forest earned a share of the fifth conference title in team history. Catanzaro came to Lake Forest from Wingate University, where he was the defensive line coach for three seasons. Prior to his time at Wingate, Catanzaro was the defensive line coach, recruiting coordinator and head strength coach for three seasons at Glenville State College. He currently serves on the NCAA Division III Football Committee and the Regional Advisory Committee.
Ryan led Morningside to their greatest season in school history in 2018. Morningside went 15-0, won the Great Plains Athletic Conference (GPAC) for the eighth consecutive season and claimed the program's first-ever NAIA National Championship. He has an overall record of 170-40 in 17 seasons at Morningside, making him the winningest head coach in program history. Ryan has led the Mustangs to 15 consecutive post-season appearances in the NAIA National Championship Series, where the team has advanced to at least the semifinals six times in the last seven years and nine GPAC championships. Ryan is a seven-time GPAC Coach of the Year and an eight-time AFCA Regional Coach of the Year. Before coming to Morningside in 2001 to restart the program, Ryan was an assistant coach at Ottawa (Kan.) University and helped lead the Braves to a pair of NAIA Championship Series appearances.
The Hauck File
Hometown: Missoula, Mont. (Born), Big Timber, Mont. (High School)
Alma Mater: Montana (B.A. Business and Health and Physical Education), UCLA (M.S. Education Administration)
Family: Wife Stacey; Daughters Alexandra, Elise, and Sydney; Son Robby
Head coaching experience
Year     Team           Overall Conference (Finish)
2003    Montana         9–4      5–2 (1st)
2004    Montana         12-3     6-1 (1st)
2005    Montana         8-4       5-2 (1st)
2006    Montana         12-2     8-0 (1st)
2007    Montana         11-1     8-0 (1st)
2008    Montana         14-2     7-1 (1st)
2009    Montana         14-1     8-0 (1st)
2018    Montana         6-5       4-4 (4th)
Montana                     86-22   51-10
2010    UNLV               2-11     2-6 (7th)
2011    UNLV               2-10     1-6 (6th)
2012    UNLV               2-11     2-6 (8th)
2013    UNLV               7-6       5-3 (3rd)
2014    UNLV               2-11     1-7 (6th)
UNLV                           15-49   11-28
Overall                        101-72
Hauck Timeline
1988–1989      Montana (DB/DL)
1990–1992      UCLA (Recruiting/DB/ST/GA)
1993–1994      Northern Arizona (OLB)
1995–1998      Colorado (Recruiting Coordinator/S/OLB/ST)
1999–2002      Washington (DB/ST)
2003–2009      Montana (Head Coach)
2010–2014      UNLV (Head Coach)
2015–2017      San Diego State (Assoc. HC/STC)
2017-Present  Montana (Head Coach)
Bowl/Postseason Experience (season not year of bowl)
1989    D1-AA First Round
1989    D1-AA Semifinal
1991    Sun Bowl
1995    Cotton Bowl
1996    Holiday Bowl
1998    Aloha Bowl
1999    Holiday Bowl
2000    Rose Bowl
2001    Holiday Bowl
2002    Sun Bowl
2003    D1-AA First Round
2004    D1-AA National Championship
2005    D1-AA First Round
2006    FCS Semifinal
2007    FCS First Round
2008    FCS National Championship
2009    FCS National Championship
2014    Heart of Dallas Bowl
2015    Hawaii Bowl
2016    Las Vegas Bowl
2017    Armed Forces Bowl
Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned